The Child of the 90’s and What I will Never forget.

Posted on

I do not own this picture
I do not own this picture

It seems an interesting to look back at one’s childhood and remembering the small items that shaped into what it was. And I now by writing these words the all-to-familiar visuals of childhood romping grounds come flooding back like a great tidal wave. I am writing this as much to dip my cup in the well of remembrance as much I am encouraging you to look book on some fond moments of your life. It would be foolish to think all of our memories are as perfect a scene as Julie Andrews singing with her children in ‘The Sound of Music’, but all the same life as we now it know wouldn’t be what it is without them. Here is my quick list of life lived through a child of the 90’s eyes:

  • Disney’s: Toy Story
  • Uno’s Pizza on 3rd St. Booneville, Indiana
  • Playing basketball against my Dad
  • Television Sets with only 10 channels
  • Tape players with built in radios (Fiddler on the Roof cassette tape)
  • Calvin and Hobbes
  • Having to sit at the dinner table until I finished eating my dinner
  • Going to the video store
  • Watching the, then new, Danny Glover Predator 2 and eating pizza
  • Meeting my dog Blue for the first time
  • Going to the bank and being utterly bored (not much had changed there)
  • Beer Claw Donuts and Chocolate milk after Tae-Kwon-do class Saturday mornings
  • Star Wars episode 1 with little Anakin “Annie” Skywalker
  • The YMCA summer camp

Again, I encourage you today to set aside a moment to think about the positive building “Lincoln Logs” that helped you develop into the fully functional, fantastic person you are today.

 

 

Leave a Reply

