Posted on

I am not a product of my circumstances. I am a product of my decisions.

–Stephen Covey

The age-old “I am a product of my environment”  argument has been made countless times by both whiny children and adults. I want to tell you today:

You are a product of your decisions. 

I have often written: your destiny is not determined by your past mistakes. You have the choice. You can pick how you choose to feel, how you choose to behave, and how you choose to interpret the world. You , unfortunately, cannot choose your environment. Every day we wake up and see the successful people that we want to emulate. Yet our desire alone does not drive us to excel. You make the choice to hit the gymnasium and get that desired body, you hit the library and study to get the desired grades/degree, and you make choices that reflect what life you want to lead.

You do not walk into prison. The decisions you make get you there. 

I will leave you with some words to reflect on.

Decision: a conclusion or resolution reached after consideration.

Choice: an act of selecting or making a decision when faced with two or more possibilities

Freedom: the power or right to act, speak, or think as one wants without hindrance or restraint.

I do not own this image. Belongs to calv
I do not own this image. Belongs to calv

Leave a Reply

