Good Movies are dead?!?! Hell No!

Posted on

Good Movies are dead? Good screen writing is dead? Hell No.
Take a good look my friends. At what? The movie screen of course. Now, this is only opinion but I think if there was a creative drought we are out of it now. And by creative drought I mean doing all these remakes of popular films such as “The Italian Job”, “Oceans Eleven”, and “Cape Fear” (all of which are good movies in their own respects). Yes, there also have been the not so successful remakes such as: “Arthur”, “Conan The Barbarian”, and even the likes of the popular “Footloose”. I have heard the argument made by the older generation AND the younger generation alike that ‘there is no creativity. These movies are just stolen ideas’.
 
Not so, I say.
First of all let me point you to the Screen Writers Guild. On the website they have on its front page and you will see a picture of David Magee and by his picture the caption “They said the life of Pi couldn’t be made into a movie David Magee proved them wrong.” I will now continue to drive this point home for you good people. I have over the course of just this year alone beheld fantastically written movies. There will be people who will disagree with me over this, but my opinion is this: although we had a bit of a rough patch good writing is now going to make its triumphant return.
With the likes of these brilliant movies such as Lawless, the Matrix, Inception, Master & Commander, The Dark Knight Trilogy, and I am sure I could rattle more. Now, I may not know the inside tract of screen writing, but I can most certainly appreciate what is presented to me on screen. Actually let me try this… I will list some quotes down and you put the quotes to the movies:
“My name is Maximus Decimus Meridius, Commander of the Armies of the North, General of the Felix Legions, loyal servant to the true emperor, Marcus Aurelius. Father to a murdered son, husband to a murdered wife, and I will have my vengeance, in this life or the next.”
“Why so serious?”
“My precious!”
“This is the day you will always remember as the day you almost caught Captain Jack Sparrow!”
“I want to play a game”
If you’ve recognized any of these quotes it is as much as you remembering the actor as much as it is you remembering the WRITING an actor or actress has to memorize. Now, don’t get me wrong sometimes I have truly struggled with poor dialog and plot choices in movies, but I am seeing more and more movies I am obsessed with because of how well written the movies are.
As for the quality of movies today I must say this… You can use as much technology as you want to spice up a movie, but that will not save it. There have been amazing advances in cinematography and the film industry that have made positive impacts on how movies are made and produced. The only downfall is when you try to ostensibly make a movie just on technology. Unfortunately, to me, there is no heart in it… A good example of this can be seen in Transformers 3. I like where the industry is headed in terms of capability, but the both screen writing, directing (i.e: actors, tech people, etc.), and technology must all be in sync to make a great movie.

So, let me wrap this up… There are amazing movies out there today, and we are only going to be graced with more. So, keep hope in our movies and… “May the force be with you.”

Leave a Reply

