Life: there is no reset button.

Posted on Updated on

[I believe by now, dear readers, I think I have tried to in grain a sense of ‘seize the day’ in all of you (or did the message even occur to you?). Well, I wanted to take this time to re-emphasize the point OR introduce the idea to you.]

You know, my dad always told me “Boy, there are never going to be championships for Nintendo players.” Boy, was he wrong… Of course I jest. He is a very intelligent man with years of knowledge and strength readily available to him. I believe his point for me was: you can’t live through a television, computer or, game console. A few years later I now know what he means. I can’t share my experiences of jumping over ledges  with Mario to anyone else. That experience is one only I have and know about. While it is enjoyable it does not define your existence. Making these seemingly unimportant entertainment devices our lives seems to me like a waste of your talent. Now, I say that in the nicest possible way of course. There has been a lot of good to come from these devices, but what I am saying is that there is a whole world around you.

A whole world that is waiting for you to be a part of it.

In this life there are many paths for us to take. We all have our share of success and failure, but they are uniquely our own. The memories and experiences ARE yours. Of this I am sure you are aware of, but what I want to encourage you to do is MAKE those experiences memorable ones. Life is so fleeting and each breath we take brings us closer to the next experience. What you choose to do with the breath, that you are blessed to have fill your lungs, is what I want you to reconsider.

I write this because someone close to me is going down a path to where I think he is missing out on his life. His past time is playing video games, going to parties, working minimally, and doing whatever he wants to do. There is nothing wrong with doing these things, but I just feel like he’s missing out. He could be joining his family and making lasting memories, or going out and volunteering. I just feel that there is so many good wholesome activities that build character and build us up while growing with others. He is avoiding these things because he is afraid. Afraid to experience something new, afraid to lose his valuable free time, and maybe just afraid that something he does might be rejected. It is exactly this fear that limits us and hinders us, but like I’ve mentioned in previous posts that fear can hinder us or propel us forward.

I just don’t want you to miss out on your life. The greatest waste in this world is a waste of a gift. It may take a while, but I know you all can find your niches in life. You just have to push yourself to find it. So, try to avoid the trap of my friend that I mentioned above and avoid the complacency of every day life. Be, the person you want to be. Not the person you dream of being.

Live your life any way you choose, but don’t let it slip by you.

time goes by faster than you think…
(property of skitzone.com)
Leave a Reply

