Irrational Love

Posted on

As if the title doesn’t set this off oh so nicely. Insert chuckle here.

What, I wanted to write about today was irrational love. There are several different directions I could take this, but I will only chose one. It is an incredible thing to have a powerful love for someone even when the uncertainty of that love being mutual. You can’t stop your heart no matter how hard you try. Your heart loves who it wants to love. Many a times I’ve bemoaned this fact of life, but it’s really not that bad.

So, let me give you an example of what I mean. The example I will use for you good jesters and harlequins is a dear friend of mine who, for all intents and purposes, will be called Lexi. I’ve known her for several years and to say I love her is an understatement. We started off as acquaintances and then later on became friends (and then great friends yada yada). For the longest time I knew that I loved her, maybe at one time romantically, but now I love her as if she were my own flesh and blood. Even though my feelings for her were strong I didn’t know (or at least couldn’t tell) if she loved me. It bothered me that I always felt a disconnect with her like my love for her was a one way street. Over time I knew that she saw me not only as someone interested in dating her, but really loving her on a higher level. Someone who wanted to be there for her think and thin. I can’t imagine life without her. Much like her being a part of my family like I mentioned earlier.

Even if Lexi doesn’t love me the way I love her I will always be there for her. I can’t explain how I could love her the way I do even when there is distance that separates us my heart will always be with her to help her, to comfort, and protect. It doesn’t make sense. Even when her feelings for me weren’t clear. I now know that’s the love that I will never truly understand, and that in my eyes is not a problem. I believe our hearts were built with enough room to love without rhyme or reason.

What, I’m trying to say is: don’t let your love turn sour. Loving someone is what makes us human. Even if the person you want to love doesn’t or can’t love you back you can still care for them in your own way. Or maybe you can try to show them that you’re worthy of their love friendship or otherwise. Either way your heart will let you move on or stay with the person you can’t let go. There should be no regrets when loving someone.

Love, in my case, gives me purpose. It keeps me going. My love for Lexi truly is an irrational love but one that I can count myself lucky to have. She is an amazing young woman whom it would be anyones utmost pleasure to know. If I would have fought my heart I wouldn’t be here calling her my dearest sister. irrationality goes hand in hand with love so when you find someone you love maybe you should follow your heart.

 

“Love is never lost. If not reciprocated, it will flow back and soften and purify the heart.” Washington Irving

Leave a Reply

