Love Songs = Wrong Songs

Posted on

In the words of Maroon 5 “One more F***ING love song I’ll be sick!” 

For the record I am not against love songs because some of the greatest songs ARE love songs, BUT what I am against is their effect on people. Let me just give you all some insight and tell you a little story about myself (I promise I will draw this out as long as I can).

Basically, it was night at around 10:30-11pm driving home alone. As I ride along the empty road what song comes on the radio? None other than Sir Elton John’s ‘Tiny Dancer’ comes on. Naturally, I start to think about all the special ladies in my life, and letting my emotions get the better of me I think we are ready to hit a home run and start dating. Fast forward 4 minutes later… Wrong. I felt one way and she felt another. I like chocolate ice cream she likes vanilla. But, I’m sure I’ve already covered this ground with you all.

Anyways, when listening to love songs HANDLE WITH CARE, because love songs have a certain power over us. Think about it: our technological society is immersed in music. We turn on the radio to listen to music, our cell phones have a musical ringtone, commercials play songs, etc. It is so easy to fall prey to these emotions. They make us feel good and that we are worth the love we seek. There’s nothing wrong with feeling this way or wanting to, but the side effects from possible rejection are much worse (*see example below). Like the crash after a sugar high.

That’s why it is dangerous. We listen to these songs and we feel a certain way while the other person is not listening to that same music and DOESN’T feel the same. If you can make loves songs work for you THAT’S GREAT, but the dangers of love songs are real. Don’t let yourself be caught up in those emotions unless you are sure of what you have. You take a gamble when you listen to love songs folks… You have been warned.

(*For example: Jack is listening to his Pandora station and Rod Stewarts “Have I told you lately” and Jack starts to get emotional. He cries on the car ride swerves and almost hits grandma Jenkins. Jack pulls himself together and remembers his crush just texted him. He tells her he loves her. His crush is married….)

My no-no love song list:

  1. Baby Come Back- The Players
  2. December 1963- Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons
  3. Wonderful tonight Eric Clapton
  4. 9 Million Bycicles in Beijing- Katie Melua

(We’ll just leave at that for now folks) Katie Perry, Carly Rae Jepson, Selina Gomez WILL NOT BE ADDED TO THIS LIST!!!

pulled from Avoided thoughts. blogspot.com

 

3 thoughts on “Love Songs = Wrong Songs

    Love Songs = Wrong Songs « jest a word on life said:
    August 23, 2012 at 4:52 pm

    […] Love Songs = Wrong Songs. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Posted in Uncategorized […]

    Jose Moraes said:
    August 23, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    Backstreet Boys and boybands in general get me in those moods man. 😦

      jestawordonlife responded:
      August 26, 2012 at 7:29 am

      Sorry Champ, but hey its sometimes good to feel that way, because we know what true happiness is when we know and feel what sadness is.

Leave a Reply

