A speech for my beloved cast members

Posted on

Speech For Midsummer Nights Dream

Now, I know what you’re thinking ” just shut the hell up and let us open our bag of goodies”, but I just have a short speech so i can put you all to sleep and return the stuff I bought all of you.
Serious face now people.
To start this off I would like to start at the end, and selfishly quote some of my lines as Demetrius “Are you sure that yet we are awake, it seems to me that yet we sleep we dream.” And this is exactly how I feel about this play. It has come and gone like a dream, but all of you are one of the sweetest dreams I have known.
Whether you like to admit or not… You have profoundly affected the lives of every person in this cast. I know I can’t speak for everyone, but their is a belief and a conviction behind these words. We’ve gone through countless rehearsal after rehearsal and yet you all have made the choice to be here, and be part of this family. To emphasize this point the definition of family is: Two or more people who share goals and values, have long-term commitments to one another. I could say amazing things about each and every one of you in this family. But, for the sake of keeping this short I will refrain from doing so. We have all had our problems with one another at one point or another, but like a family we have worked past them Together. We all have shared a commitment to one another, a passion, and we have all shared a ‘mid-summer nights’ dream.

To thank just one of you for the experience I have had would be wrong, because it has been all of you that have helped make this play what it is. So with all of my heart thank you for everything and bringing me as much happiness as my heart can bear.  And as a final thought I must now use one last quote….

I don’t care how poor a man is; if he has family, he’s rich.  ~Dan Wilcox and Thad Mumford, “Identity Crisis,” M*A*S*H

Leave a Reply

