There is no I in Team but there is a me (that’s called your boss)

Posted on

The other day I was talking to my friend Joe, and coincidentally (possibly) new boss, but he doesn’t like the title of boss he likes to think of it as a partner or just part of the team. There is something very enticing to me about being part of a team instead of being part of the “corporate ladder”. Being part of a team reminds me a lot of playing sports and not necessarily the work. A team will be there to support you and work with you, but co-workers will be looking out for themselves. I know this all too well with my experience with big companies. I can’t count how many times I was proverbially ‘thrown under the bus’ and I like the idea of working together with people who are all working towards a common goal.

I say this because I haven’t started this new job. But, he is very open about what he wants to do, but you always have to be careful. Just listen to that old song “Smiling Faces” by the Undisputed Truth. Giving this new business venture a shot is taking a leap of faith and trusting, to a certain extent, the unknown.

But, back to what I was talking about before. Right. Sometimes I feel like people will work harder if their presence is valued and that they feel they ARE a part of the team. Some people like to work better alone and that’s totally fine I don’t blame you (especially if part of your job was customer service… oy vey). There is nothing worse than working for a company or having a boss that doesn’t value and presses you for output. It’s the kind of environment that puts people in the hospital for high blood pressure! You must strike the right balance between equality, team work, and just hard work to get things done. Sometimes its not easy. Companies search out managers who can do this very thing for a long period of time FOR GOOD REASON!

In my opinion working with a team you accomplish more together than you ever do alone. How do you think the pyramids were built?

Leave a Reply

