Why your Facebook profile and your cell phone CAN’T SAVE you (… from social isolation)

Posted on

Is it symptomatic of our times? Do we just crave the next stimulation?! Are we technology adrenaline junkies??? Why AM I ASKING YOU ALL THESE QUESTIONS?

I just want to make you think. I read a book once called the Lonely American  by Dr. Olds & Dr. Shwartz  Image

Well, let me just get straight to the point: the more connected we THINK we are the less connected we FEEL we are.
Let me paint you a picture:

Scenario 1: You have your customized I phone 4G and your text message inbox is empty with no new messages.

Scenario 2: You’re on Facebook on you’re day off sitting in front of your screen at night. The blue light pours over you as you check your notifications, friend requests, and inbox messages… Nothing.

In the 20th century we have the luxury of conversation without being face to face. Which inevitably means: safety blanket. But, is a safety blanket really what we need? It’s tantamount to being DRUNK (okay that’s a bit of an exaggeration…), but it lowers our inhibitions because we aren’t face to face to deal with the repercussions of what we write.

This book helped illustrate A NUMBER of points for me, because I have felt that way MANY times before. Spending time by myself wondering why things weren’t changing, wondering why that the more time I spent on Facebook the less I felt close to old friends, and wondering why the amount of time I spent on these social outlets didn’t make me FEEL better. Just like in the book: you can’t

Let, me be the first to tell you.  You don’t need Facebook to make friends. You don’t need a cell phone to stay connected. What you need is face time. Not literally looking into someone else s face trying to decipher their thoughts like a crazy person. All it takes is that you make the sincere effort. You just need to show people the real you and not an “online you” and no matter how bad you may think your personality is you just may attract some true friends.
You make yourself who you want to be. We made technology it didn’t make us so Don’t let your technology define you!

You will realize that changing the way you see yourself, making the effort to be sociable, and being a good friend/son/spouse whatever will inevitably lead to a better outlook on life, and a more ENJOYABLE life.

SO not all gloom and doom today! I thank GOD I have my cell phone to text that cute girl I can’t WAIT to go on a date with next… Thank you cell phone & thank you cute girl.

Leave a Reply

